Couch to 5k – Week 4

Standard

I’ll give you a quick summary of how Week Four works.  You warm up by walking “briskly” for five minutes.  Then, you do a 4 minute jog followed by a 1 minute walk  – do that 5 times then cool down with another 5 minute walk.

Runner’s high has left the building, and still hasn’t returned.

Day 1:  Not a good time.  That extra minute of running is no joke.  It was hot, I was sweaty, and people were staring at me because I was panting like a dog.  It wasn’t pretty folks.

Day 2:  Not so bad!  Although, it was hotter than the equator and I was miserable for the entire time.  Also, around interval 3 I really started to break down.  I could feel myself forcing every.single.step.  It was all I could do to put one foot in front of the other.  However, I once read something in Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes, along the lines of “can I take this step?  Yes.  Can I take this step?  Yes!”  So I continued that mantra in order to keep going.  Now I know what it was like back in ‘Nam.

Day 3:  So, day 3 was pushed back about 5 days.  Oops.  Thanks Mother Nature and your inability to not rain or be freezing cold.  At the same time.  I was for sure I was going to have to start the week over – but alas!  I pushed myself and holy shit it sucked, but I finished.  Hurray.   

I took a peek at Week 5 – that does not look like a good time.

This week’s playlist:

Fuck You – Cee Lo Green

Take it Off – Ke$ha

Bulletproof ­– La Roux

Use Somebody – Kings of Leon

Party Rock Anthem – LMFAO

La La – Ashlee Simpson

What Means the World to You – Cam’ron

Cowboy Casanova – Carrie Underwood

King Kong – Curren$y

Forever – Dropkick Murphys

Amen – Edens Edge

I just realized two artists from my playlist have $ in their name.  I’m pretty sure that makes me awesome.                 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

