Couch to 5k – Week 1

Standard

Three words:  It. Was. Rough.*

I’ll give you a quick summary of how week one works.  You warm up by walking “briskly” for five minutes.  Then you jog for two minutes, walk for three minutes, jog for two minutes, walk for three minutes, jog for two minutes, walk for three minutes, jog for two minutes and then cool down to a brisk walk for another five minutes.  It doesn’t sound that hard, I guess… but when you’re reallllly out of shape, it sucks.

So, anyways.

Day 1:  SUCKED.  My shins were throbbing after the first jogging session.  I was completely winded after the second jogging session, and by the third, I was ready to just give up all over again.  But, I powered through.  I finished, and then instead of only cooling down for five minutes, I walked for about ten.  This is mostly due to the fact that I didn’t time my route well enough and I went further from home than I anticipated.

Day 2:  I caved and paid $2.99 for the 5k101 app from iTunes (you can learn more about it here.  It’s much better than the free podcast version, mostly because you can play your own music (and still have the voice-over telling when you run/walk.)  It’s totally worth it in my opinion.  Sucked a little less than Day 1.  However, it’s all just a ploy.  I always feel great after the second day of running.   It’s the fifth or sixth day of running where my brain starts to deteriorate and I feel like giving up completely.  I also took a different route this time and ended perfectly right at my house.  AWESOME.

Day 3:  Super pleasant.  In fact, it was on Saturday and it was a gorgeous day for a run/walk.  I wasn’t winded; I recovered easily and thought to myself “self, this time will be different.”

As an added bonus, here’s a picture of my running buddies, Day 1, post run.

This week’s playlist:

Rolling in the Deep – Adele

Polyamorous – Breaking Benjamins

Otis – Jay-Z & Kayne West

Monster – Kanye West Feat. Jay-Z, Rick Ross, Nicki Minaj & Bon Iver

Party in the U.S.A. – Miley Cyrus (shutup – likeyoudon’tknowthewords)

Galway Girl – Mundy

Hit That – The Offspring

Allouette – The Delta Rythm Boys & His Band (yes, like on the Target commercial)

 

*Even though I suck as a runner, I get a runner’s high.  So when I’m done running, I feel pretty amazing and can’t wait to do it again, and then I do it again and wonder WTF I was smoking.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

