Pumpkin Pancakes

Standard

I feel like I first need to post a disclaimer. I am, at best, a novice photographer. Once upon a time I minored in photography and had time and energy to devote to such a hobby. These days? I’m a stay at home mom with a demanding (and absolutely adorable, but that’s another post) 18 month old. Not only do I not have time to take multiple shots in various locations while trying to find the best light in my rather dark house, but I REALLY don’t have time to do it with food. Said kid likes to eat. A lot. So, that said…

Pumpkin Pancakes

Tis the season for pumpkin in my house. These were easy and delicious. Bonus? The recipe makes a ton and they were still delicious days later after being stored in the fridge, microwaved and crisped back up in the toaster oven. I found the recipe on allrecipes.com

  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons vinegar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
Directions:
In a bowl, mix together the milk, pumpkin, egg, oil and vinegar. Combine the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, allspice, cinnamon, ginger and salt in a separate bowl. Stir into the pumpkin mixture just enough to combine.
Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each pancake. Brown on both sides and serve hot.
My changes? I used 1 cup of white flour and 1 cup of wheat flour- I’m one of those moms. I didn’t have vinegar so I didn’t use it. I didn’t have *ground* allspice, only whole (cause what would I need that for?) nor did I have ginger. I used clove and nutmeg instead.
Nom!
~T
Leave a Reply

