Pumpkin Bread

Standard

So, every year when the leaves start changing, and it gets cool enough at night to sleep with the windows, and you turn off the a/c (or in my case, your a/c breaks and since it’s been in the 70s for a week you don’t get it fixed and then it gets to be 85degrees and 90% humidity)… something in me just needs to have something pumpkiny.  While I can get my fix from pumpkin spice latte, I prefer to not have to spend $4.90 a pop to curb a craving.

Instead, I turn to this pumpkin bread.

I have no idea where I found this recipe, but I’ve been making it for roughly 5 years.  There’s a small chance this recipe was ripped from a middle aged women’s magazine at a doctors office, but I can’t be sure.  Regardless, this pumpkin bread is the best tasting thing EVER.  Seriously.  And you might look at the ingredient list and say “holy shit! 2 1/4 cups of sugar!!!! No thank you”  well guess what, you can bite me and miss out on this ridiculous bread.  It comes together in about 5 minutes and does its own thing for about an hour, and then ten minutes later you can cut it and eat it or smear it all over your body and then lick it off like a cat.  Whatever you need to do, do it.  Because that’s how awesome it is.

A few words of advice – if you have a larger bowl, say, in the sink, dirty – you should go ahead and wash it so you don’t get have to use a super small bowl like I did.

On to the important part.

Pumpkin Bread

15 oz canned pumpkin

3 eggs

3/4 cup vegetable oil

2 1/2 cup flour

2 1/4 cup sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

3/4 tsp cinnamon

3/4 tsp cloves

3/4 tsp nutmeg

Grease and flour 2 9″ X 5″ loaf pans. Combine and beat pumpkin, 1/2 cup water, eggs, and oil.

Measure dry ingredients into a separate bowl; combine and mix with pumpkin, water, egg, and oil mixture.

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour (or until knife inserted comes out clean).  I like to check it at around 45 minutes.

Leave a Reply

