Grilled Pizza

Standard

So, at the beginning of summer, people all over the interwebs were gossiping about grilled pizza.

This is not a new concept to me, because where I live, the power goes out on a regular basis resulting in the inability to cook in an oven.  Enter grilled pizza (and enchiladas, and chicken parmigiana, and pretty much everything else).

I’ve seen a few techniques and some sound way too involved for pizza.  Plus, it’s pretty much guaranteed that I’ll burn myself any time I cook, so flipping the dough and then adding the toppings over a screaming hot flame is not appealing to me.

The way I do it is simple.  You can you use a sheet pan, but I prefer to use this handy dandy vegetable grill pan that my mom bought my husband at Home Goods.  Something similar to this one here.  Once the dough has crisped up on the bottom a little, slide the pizza off the pan and put it right on the grill grates (I also do this when I cook a pizza in the oven).

This isn’t really a recipe, because who needs a recipe for pizza? You just put some crap on some dough and cook it until it’s done.  Viola.

First, you get yourself two helpers and give them some pepperoni.

Two helpers!

Then you start your grill.  We use gas about 98% of the time because we’re too lazy for charcoal.  If you want to use charcoal, be my guest.  While the grill heats up, press your dough onto the sheet pan.  You can use a roller, but I just stretch it with my hands so I don’t have more dishes to do.  The most important part of all of this?  GREASE YOUR PAN LIBERALLY.  Seriously.  I cannot stress this enough.  The last thing you want is dough that sticks to the pan and rips apart and ruins your pizza and then obviously your night and possibly your week.  So, once you’ve greased your pan, put some oil on the top too, because that helps it crisp up.  Then spread some sauce on, pile on the cheese and your favorite toppings.  This time I just did cheese pepperoni and black olives.

Once your pizza is topped, check the grill.  You want it as hot as possible, but I get impatient and usually throw it on there once it reaches at least 500 degrees.  I close the lid once the pizza is on and let it do its thing for about 3 minutes and then I check the crisp-factor of the dough.  If it’s crisp and browned a little, it’s time to slide it off the pan and finish cooking it.  I highly suggest using two glove type pot holders and a heatproof spatula to help you with this, not your bare hands.  Once you’ve got it on the grill grates, turn the burners down to low (or if you’re using charcoal, move the pizza over to the cooler part of the grill) and close the lid again.  After 5 or so minutes check it, if it’s done great!  If not, close the lid and check it again in a little bit.  You’ll want to keep the pan, pot holders and spatula handy so you can get the pizza off the grill, obviously.

Once it’s done, bring it inside, cut it up, and take a bite and burn the roof of your mouth.  Or you can wait a few minutes until it’s not 500 million degrees.

Enjoy!

~J

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

